Slammed Book Review

13372690

Title: Slammed
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 317
Published: 2012
Rating: 3/5

Blurb (Goodreads):
Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

My Review:
This book had a really good beginning, I loved the relationship blooming within the first couple of chapters. Normally I would complain that they liked each other so soon. But the whole idea was so it could show how much they were meant to be together. But something happens which makes them being a couple impossible.

Things I liked:
The slam poetry was the main theme of this book as the character Will Cooper loved it. I liked this because I used to go to an open night like Will did where people would say slam poetry. It’s an amazing thing to watch and to read. Colleen Hoover’s slam poems were all amazing and heart breaking. I would love to have seen them live. I also liked the whole plot which stops Will and Layken from being able to date. I can’t talk about it much, but I wasn’t expecting it. I’ve made this point a couple times about Colleen Hoover as I’ve read a few of her books, but she sure can write hot male characters. But I also liked all the other characters like Layken’s little brother and her mum that were a massive part of the book.

Things I disliked:
I’m not sure if this is just me but sometimes I think books can try too hard to be sad, *cough* Veronica Roth, Allegiant *cough* and sometimes you just wish it could be happy for one chapter. This book was sad, but sometimes when things are that sad, it’s unbelievable so I didn’t really feel anything towards it. I don’t know if I’m just typing a lot of rubbish and that you have no idea what I’m talking about. But that’s just my opinion. Maybe I’m not in the mood for a sad book lately.

Overall:
I did like this book and would recommend it for a good romance book, especially if you love slam poetry because Colleen Hoover seriously has that talent. I wish she would preform some, I would watch it! I rated it 3/5 because I did like it, but it wasn’t my favourite book that Hoover has wrote.

Leave a comment