My Name Is Memory Book Review

my name is memory

Title: My Name Is Memory
Author: Ann Brashares
Pages: 402
Published: 2010
Rating: 3/5

Blurb (Goodreads):

Daniel has spent centuries falling in love with the same girl. Life after life, crossing continents and dynasties, he and Sophia (despite her changing name and form) have been drawn together-and he remembers it all. Daniel has “the memory”, the ability to recall past lives and recognize souls of those he’s previously known. It is a gift and a curse. For all the times that he and Sophia have been drawn together throughout history, they have also been torn painfully, fatally, apart. A love always too short.

Interwoven through Sophia and Daniel’s unfolding present day relationship are glimpses of their expansive history together. From 552 Asia Minor to 1918 England and 1972 Virginia, the two souls share a long and sometimes torturous path of seeking each other time and time again. But just when young Sophia (now “Lucy” in the present) finally begins to awaken to the secret of their shared past, to understand the true reason for the strength of their attraction, the mysterious force that has always torn them apart reappears. Ultimately, they must come to understand what stands in the way of their love if they are ever to spend a lifetime together.

My Review:

Ugh this book made me so mad. I was thinking about raving how silly the cover is, but how amazing the book is and this was proof not to judge books by it’s cover. I had this review planned out so well! But then I read the full book and now I just wish I never bought this book and judged it by it’s cover because seriously what the heck was that ending? I think my book was missing the last few pages because I’m sure mine didn’t even end. This book should be called “How To Ruin An Amazing Book With The Last Few Chapters.”

Things I liked:

The writing style was my favourite. It went from present day to back in time to Daniel’s past lives.  This gave Daniel and Lucy a back story and made the reader believe that the two should be together. As Daniel goes through his past lives, he’s always thinking about how to get to Lucy and in some ways it’s not the right time and I just thought it was beautiful that he loved her every life time. I liked both Daniel and Lucy, normally I read a book and at least one of the main character annoy me. But not this time, both I could see their line of thought and understood why they did things and I just really liked this book so I’m so mad about the ending that was so stupid. Ugh okay sorry I’ll save it for the next paragraph. I liked the build up to them meeting again in the present life and how much I wanted it to work out. This was due to their past lives, I was like shouting, “they deserve to be together after everything!!!!!” I also really liked the concept of having past lives and only some remember them. It was a good storyline and so romantic. God, why did that ending have to ruin the full book?

Things I disliked:

Have you guessed yet? I hated the ending! It wasn’t even a cliffhanger, it was like the author was getting real bored of writing this book and said “oh well let’s just end it when it’s not even finished, no one will notice.” Well guess who noticed? ME! AND IM ANNOYED! Okay, I respect that it’s your book and you can end it anyway you want… No, but seriously why would you do this to me? This could have easily been a 5 star book and now I struggled to give it a 3.Also it was like the author just added in some pointless characters that added nothing to the story, but could have if they were developed more. I could have overlooked this if the ending wasn’t so meh, but it seemed like some characters were added in for filter chapters and that was it.

Okay so you know all my feelings towards this book, if you ever read it, I suggest reading to the third last chapter and stopping because seriously the last two chapters ruined it for me big time.

I’m sorry if this is a total spoiler thing?? But I never said what happened, I just said I didn’t like it, but some people might. Remember this review is my opinion, and mine only so you shouldn’t judge a book by my review.

Leave a comment